Ascot Parnell - luxury b&b accommodation
Ascot Parnell
32 Saint Stephens Ave.
Parnell, Auckland 1052
New Zealand
Ph: int.+ 64 9 309 9012
Guests Comments & Testimonials
Extract from our visitors book over the past 20 years ....
August 2013 Everything you could want in a B&B, very quiet, comfortable, friendly hosts. Thank you for a great stay !
Mike & Liz. Whangarei, NZ
July 2013 A fantastic spot, divine luxury. Thank you !
Barbie & David. Auckland NZ
May 2013 It was so lovely staying here ! Thank you for your warmth and hospitality and for sharing Khalifa and Zubaidi with me. I hope our paths cross again.
May 2013 Thank you for a tremendously wonderful stay !! Everything was fantastic ! Great food, best company !! We LOVE all 4 of you !
Ringhoffs (Chris, Margaret & George)
Satellite Beach, Florida USA
May 1, 2013 We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your beautiful B&B. April weather has been spectacular and can't beat the great views from the balcony. And don't forget the delicious Belgian crepes !
Gerben & Janice, Palm Coast, Florida USA.
April 2013 Warm, kind - the most obliging hosts. Thank you so very much Therese & Bart for such a comfortable stay. Very best wishes to you both and I hope to see you again in the near future.
Anna. Dunedin, NZ
April 2013
Our 13th stay at Ascot Parnell !! We feel us so at home during all our stays. It feels like the meeting of old friends. We enjoyed the tranquility and your gracious hospitality. So we look forward to next year April 2014 ! Best wishes Therese & Bart and woof woof.
Rolf & Antonie Ruhland. Munchen, Germany.
April 2013
Thanks for sharing your beautiful home with us, and for providing such nice "extras"; ride to and from ship & airport, dinner recommendations, chocolate Easter bunnies etc... all very much appreciated !!
Kathy & Bill Morton. MA, USA
March 2013
Bart & Therese, we've had a very relaxing stay. Love your home, your dogs and you both !! Breakfast conversation particularly is stimulating - loved it!! xxx
Barry & Elizabeth Greensmith, Queensland, Australia.
February 2013
Bart and Therese, thank you for making us feel so welcome and at home in your beautiful B&B. Everything was available when and where we needed it. It will be impossible to find another place with such warm and quality service, so we will have to return ! All the best.
Katia Guiloff. Wellington, NZ.
February 2013
Thank you for your awesome B&B. You will be highly recommended !
Fernando and Fanny. Chile
February 2013
Fabulous town ! Loved your hosting at beginning and end of a great month in NZ. Thanks for superb suggestions for dining and activities.
George & Kate Haldeman, PA, USA
February 2013
As always, as close to perfection as you could find anywhere.
Sally & Peter, Wokingham, Berkshire, England.
January 2013
Bart & Therese - Thank you very much for your wonderful hospitality and interesting conversation. Our stay with you has been the highlight of our stay in Auckland. We hope to see you again - here or in New York !
Helen & Dan Tobin. New York, NY USA.
January 2013
Excellent hospitality combined with charm and good humour. We are returning February 14th, see you then.
David & Elizabeth Porter. Dorset, UK.
January 2013
Bart & Therese, we could not have chosen a more comfortable, friendly, beautiful place to stay. You both are so accommodating and full of great information. You made us feel like old friends. We will be recommending your place to all our friends. P.S. Love the dogs too !
Chuck & Corky Jackson, Huntington Beach, CA, USA.
January 2013
Terrific experience. Thank you. Pet the dogs for me please !
Clara. Chevy Chase, MD, USA
January 2013
We have stayed in many B&B's in NZ, but Ascot Parnell is the best location, excellent accommodations but most of all our hosts Bart & Therese who provided a service far better than we have experienced previously. May you continue to keep this lovely place for many years. Thank you !
Rhonda & Hugh, Burlington, Ontario, Canada
December 2012
Such good hosts, Bart & Therese were charming and helpful. We loved it here ! Thank you.
Joan & Bob Freund, Scottsdale, AZ, USA
December 2012

Thank you Bart & Therese, for your wonderful welcome, your kindness to us and our lovely room, and of course the very good breakfasts ! We are so happy we found you ! Best ever B. and B. !
Ian and Ruth Scott, Oxfordshire UK

November 2012
Wonderful finale to our stay in New Zealand. We hope to return to see you and your beautiful dogs another time.
Hazel & Derek, Melbourne, Australia
November 2012 Our 3rd stay with y'all was as incredible as the 1st ! Hope the best for the both of you.
Thomas & Julia Main, Alabama, USA
November 2012 Thank you Bart and Therese, for making our stay truly memorable ! A beautiful room, spectacular views, delicious food and wonderful hosts !
Laurie & Lloyd MacDonald, Aurora, ON, Canada
October 2012 We have had a really lovely visit, new friends ! We look forward to our return. MAHALO !
Deborah & Dennis Daniell
Kailua-Kona, HI, USA
October 2012 Many thanks Therese & Bart for making our visit to NZ feel a though we were staying with family. Hope we can do it again - You are truly awesome !
Nancy Lebo - North Carolina, USA
September 2012 Fantastic B&B. Hospitality and warmth second to none. Absolutely amazing. Will definitely return. Home away from home.
Anupa & Karl - London, UK
August 2012
Your warmth and hospitality is so very wonderful that we had to come back ! And your beautiful aesthetic home reflects what you do : everything to perfection. Thank you - we loved both our stays. We hope to be back some day.
Dr. Eia & Denise Asen - Cheverton Road, London UK
August 2012 Position - position - position ! Great location and welcoming service. Nothing too much trouble and great restaurant recommendations !
Brian & Sharon - Brisbane, Australia
August 2012 Six star accommodation and service ! Felt like staying with family from the start. A big thank you from your Aussie cousins, a great introduction to New Zealand.
Peter & Anne - Brisbane, Australia
July 2012 Vielen Dank ! Many thanks for such an enjoyable stay. The breakfast was just delicious and Therese & Bart are the best hosts ! Hope we'll see you again.
Hilge Family - Hamburg, Germany.
July 2012 Lovely ! Great hospitality - wonderful location and marvellous views. Once again a real delight. Thank you !
Iain & Tania Hay - Hyde Park, South Australia.
June 2012 Staying with you was a real pleasure ! We felt the care, thought and love you put into everything. It made our stay in Auckland better than we could have imagined. Thanks so much and may good fortune go with you.
Sue, Ed, Maite, and Ben Pratt - Tennessee and California, USA.
June 2012
Thank you for a wonderful stay - Lovely to see you both again.
Margaret & Tony Richards - Richmond N.Z.
May 2012 You know how to do hospitality - helpful, un-intrusive, generous and quality care. A very pleasant and quiet space and the breakfast was as good as it gets. Many thanks. Phil & Carol - Christchurch NZ.
April 2012 Thank you for all you have done for us. We felt so at home during our stay, our 12th visit to Ascot Parnell. We look forward to see you again next year 2013. Rolf & Antonie, Dachau, Bavaria, Germany.

Bart & Therese, you are an awesome couple. I have travelled many times in various countries, and have not enjoyed such hospitality before. Thank you so much. Robin - Newcastle, Australia.

March 2012 Our second time here - wonderful in every way. Barbara Smith, Berkeley, CA. USA

Wonderful stay at your lovely place. You folks set such a high standard of hospitality ! I hope we can return soon ! Judy & Chuck, Virginia USA.

February 2012 What a lovely week in such delightful surroundings. Thank you for welcoming us to Auckland and always making time to talk, to help and guide. Bruce and Lynn, Bellingham, WA, USA

The most kind and generous hosts that you can find and the house is like a castle ! Don't worry, you'll adore it ! Thanks a lot for everything, Therese & Bart, Love xxx bisous - Laurie Pelloso, Quebec, Canada.

January 2012 Loved the stay - breakfast to die for ! The fact that my wife slept through the night is a testament to the quality of the beds ! Thank you both. Ed Hanson, Dorset, England.

What a lovely stay ! Thank you so much for all your hospitality Bart & Therese. Very comfortable and relaxing, and we are now in love with Salukis !! Hillary & Peter, Yateley, Hampshire, UK.

Fabulous B&B ! The BEST we have stayed here in New Zealand, thanks to Therese & Bart. Colette & Les, Warrington, Cheshire, UK.

December 2011 It was a lovely stay in Ascot Parnell. Room was clean, cosy and best of all, the hosts Bart & Therese, were wonderful !
Sharon, Chiam and Chloe - Malaysia.

Bart & Therese, Thank you for sharing your beautiful home. It was a privilege to enjoy the lovely space. Constance & Jay - Ann Arbor, Michigan.

November 2011 Bart and Therese : We were so pleased to have chosen your beautiful home for our stay in Parnell. Your warmth and hospitality were truly the best ! Loved your dogs ! Thanks again. Bonnie & Warren - Sydney - Australia.
October 2011 Absolutely super ! A lovely start to our trip in New Zealand. Pat & Bob, Wigan,Victoria Australia.
September 2011 Thank you for such fantastic hospitality. Ascot Parnell is truly a gem. This made me feel at home, and I really enjoyed our talks. Fond regards, Derek Greeff, Santa Monica USA.
September 2011 It was a real pleasure to stay in your wonderful home. The dogs made our stay all the more pleasant ! Ros & David - Newcastle, Australia.
August 2011 A lovely refuge from the snow down south ! We very much enjoyed our stay, your hospitality is a true blessing. Many thanks. Mark & Tui - Dunedin, NZ.
May 2011 You have a wonderful home and we greatly enjoyed staying with you. Thank you for your friendship and hospitality. John & Ruth - Johannesburg, South Africa.
April 2011 Your warmth and kindness during our stay made our time in NZ so special. Thank you for sharing your home with us, and for blessing us with your wonderful hospitality. We will highly recommend your B&B to all of our friends. May God bless you both ! Paul & Cathy - Kansas USA.
March 2011 Thanks Therese & Bart for sharing your home. We enjoyed the peace and tranquility and truly appreciate your generosity. We hope to see you next year 2012, in good health. Our 12th stay at Ascot Parnell !!
Antonie & Rolf Ruhland, Dachau, Germany.
February 2011 Thanks once again for a wonderful visit. Your attention to every detail is enviable. You are both masters of hospitality.
Lorrin & Ann Garson, Vienna, Virginia, USA.
January 2011 Magnifique sejour dans votre B&B, si chaleureux ! Accueil parfait ! Encore Merci ! Benoit & Genevieve Gras, Wavre, Belgique.
December 2010 An exception stay with exceptional people.
Bob Hurt, Phoenix, Arizona USA
November 2010 The Flemish Toast was to die for and the whole experience wonderful !
Tim & Heather, Salisbury, UK
October 2010 Your lavish hospitality and meticulous attention to detail make this the epitomy of "boutique" ! Heartfelt thanks for a perfect introduction to New Zealand.
Annie & Ger Malcolm, Glasgow, Scotland
September 2010 What can I say ? Being here is blissful ! The perfect place to relax in the good company of Therese & Bart. Thank you. David Hart, Rosemarkie, Ross-shire, Scotland
June 2010 OMG !! So happy to be here ! Wonderful !
Ringhoff family, Satellite Beach, Florida USA
April 2010 The most beautiful place in the world ! God bless.,
Ralph Kownak, Nunavut, Canada
March 2010

Very happy guests

Dear Bart & Therese (& Khalifa!)
We just want to say how much we enjoyed staying at your place in Parnell. Everything was spotlessly clean, the room was lovely and it was great to meet the other guests. We particularly want to say how much we appreciated the help you gave us with directions etc and for your cheery company at all times.
All the best for the future
Robert & Diana

March 2010 Bart & Therese, what wonderful hosts you have been to us. Your endless efforts to make our stay perfect are not unnoticed. You are much more than a luxurious 5 star bed & breakfast. All others could use you as a role model. We would recommend you to anyone coming to Auckland in a heartbeat. As in interior designer, Laurie seldom praises interiors of homes, however, should she and Marc ever find a condominium such as this with neighbours such as yourselves, we should purchase it in a second. Your accommodations are outstanding and we will never forget our stay here. We have been very fortunate to travel the world and only a few experiences remain in our minds as we reminisce of past travels. Ascot Parnell is definitely in our top 10 of best experiences. We wish you continued success in all your endeavours. We know the passion of man and canine and Khalifa is remarkable. He is very lucky to have committed owners such as yourselves and you too have the unconditional love of him. We hope we were as great guests as you were hosts. With our deepest thanks.

Marc & Mia McNaughton and Laurie Carther - Toronto Canada.

Feb. 2010 Dear Bart & Therese

We would like to let you know how much we enjoyed our stay with you on our recent visit to New Zealand. We appreciated all you did for us, from 'meeting and greeting' us from the airport in the middle of the night, to giving us a walking route plan, not forgetting the wonderful breakfasts you treated us to.

How is your beautiful Saluki Khalifa? He's quite a celebrity and not only beautiful but also with impeccable manners.

Your property has a commanding view over Auckland and the harbour and it was a treat to take in the scenery from the balcony whilst enjoying the company of the other guests.

Our stay with you was a wonderful introduction to our holiday - thank you!

Kind regards,

Jacqui & Richard Shaw
May, 2009

The most delight Bed & Breakfast in the Southern Hemisphere

Thank you Bart and Therese for making our stay in Auckland such a spectacular one! From the airport pick up, warm welcome and beautiful accommodations, you made the start of our honeymoon unforgettable. Our harbor view room was gorgeous, so tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The attention to detail from the bathroom amenities, to the gourmet breakfasts were very appreciated and frankly perfect. Your travel tips both within Auckland and around the country were so very helpful, not to mention how wonderfully located Ascot Parnell is within Auckland. You are the perfect B&B hosts. Your passion and hard work is commendable. You actually make it look so easy! We cannot wait to return to visit and recommend Ascot Parnell 110%.
San Diego

Feb, 2009

What's the best way to finish your trip around New Zealand?
At this moments, I only can find just an answer: to stay in Ascott Parnell B&B.
I think that you will not find better hosts than Therese and Bart, and a B&B like Ascot Parnell.
The view, the room, the breakfast (you must taste the flamish toast!!!) their helpfulness, kindness and friendly company especially at night in the balcony with a glass of good Kiwi wine have been one of the best moments in our holidays.
Thanks Therese, Bart and Khalifa for all, we hope to see you again soon.
Juli & Ruth,
L'aldosa, Andorra

Dec, 2008 Our hosts were terriffic, never experienced anything like it!

After a roundtrip through New Zealand we booked several days at Ascot Parnell. This was our best decision ever! Our hosts Bart and Therese were terrific. Their aim is making you feel at home in which they succeeded very well. Our room was charming and comfortable. If they would run a hotel we would grade it SIX stars. Soft sheets, stylish furniture, well equiped bathroom. Beautiful and tasty breakfasts to order. A cherry on the cake is the swimmingpool. Everything was quite perfect. Very, very charming! A great ending of our vacation. Thank you Bart and Therese. We hope to come back some day.
Adriaan and Resy van Hoffen, The Netherlands
Sept. 2008 After checking out reviews on Trip Advisor for B&Bs in Auckland, we contacted Ascot Parnell hotel. Their web site, and e-mails from Bart & Therese, sealed the deal and we booked in for 3 nights: September 30, Oct 1 & 2, 2008.

Bart picked us up at the airport (cheaper, very convenient, and much cheerier conversation than other transportation options) after our flight from LAX.

Ascot Parnell is run by experienced hosts who own the entire 2nd floor of a very modern small condo building in a quiet garden setting located off a main street. Parnell is a part of the city that is interesting for walking explorations, and provides easy public transportation to the nearby commercial and arts center of the city. The location reminded us of living in the Hampstead area of London, England. Beautiful parks, a wide range of restaurants, and interesting stores and galleries are all within short walking distance in Parnell.

Bart and Therese arranged their floor of the condo in a way that provides guests with the utmost privacy in a designer-like setting. The rooms and ensuite bathrooms are very modern and comfortable, with luxurious linens, towels and accessories. An adjoining large area offers guests their own beautiful living room (with Internet access), a designer kitchen, and a balcony that overlooks a garden and the city towers in the distance. We found this situation to be a perfect place to relax after our flight, and to meet and talk with interesting guests. In the afternoons, Bart & Therese put out cookies and snacks, coffee & juice, and provided excellent information about what to do in the area and the city, where to eat, etc. Bart makes a killer breakfast!

We took a convenient public bus into town one night to catch a symphony concert -- excellent. We ate at local Parnell restaurants. We followed Bart's advice for a very interesting (and long) walk through an old cemetery and amazing parks. It was early Spring, and beautiful. We took the short ferry-ride to Devenport which is a funky and interesting suburb of Auckland. And, when we left Auckland, Bart kindly drove us with bags to pick up a rental car for our next few days in NZ. Ascot Parnell has an extensive list of recommended other B&Bs in NZ and we chose one of them in the Rotorura area that was very good (Kotare Lodge).

We recommend this B&B with the highest enthusiasm. We plan to stay there again on our next trip to Auckland.

Mike & Carol Rashotte, Florida, USA
April 2008

Dear Bart and Therese,We want to thank you very much for your wonderful hospitality when we stayed with you last month.We so enjoyed staying with you and felt SO welcome and comfortable in your home.We loved everything about the apartment and had a feeling of warmth and friendliness from you both during our visit.I and Clive wish we could have stayed longer!! We will never forget our holiday it was truly special in every way.and it was made so by meeting people like yourselves.So we say a bigTHANK YOU to you!!. Please keep in touch;good luck and love to Khalifa!!!

Clive & Ceryl Cornwall

Jan 2008

From the time we were picked up at the airport until the time we were dropped off, with a side tour of One Tree Hill on the way back to the airport, we had wonderful hospitality here. Everything about this property is extraordinary, and we loved being able to walk to Parnell, the Auckland Domain, and the Link bus stop.This is the type of place that needs more than five stars to begin to appropriately gauge the value.

Bill & Brenda, Arizona USA

Nov 2007

My wife and I were collected by Bart at the airport and taken to the B&B (in only 20 mins or so) which is located in the lovely Parnell area. The B&B is a stunning appartment with 3 double rooms, a communal lounge/breakfasting area with free internet access. The place itself is a very high standard, plenty of space in the bathroom, walk-in-wardrobe and bedroom. There is also underground parking and a swimming pool (too cold for us). There was an excellent choice for breakfast and I can recommend the bacon and pancakes! Bart and Therese were lovely hosts and couldnt do enough for us. They gave us recomendations on where to go and where to eat. I would recommend this as THE place to stay while in Auckland. Best wishes and thanks for making our stay so special.

Will and Katie, Edinburgh, UK.

Oct 2007

Thank you for everything, Bart and Therese. We really enjoy staying with you and chatting with you. We love to listen to all your stories ! Most of all we really enjoy your service because it's excellent !! You make us feel at home in the Ascot Parnell. Many thanks and lots of appreciation.

Jeff & Jennifer. Sunnyvale CA. USA

Jul 2007

We have enjoyed our stay here in Auckland and have you to thank for that. It is so nice to come back each day to a warm house and your energy and enthusiasm. Everything was top-notch but most of all, we enjoyed your company and Khalifa's. Thanks for everything - it is hard to leave.

Tim & Karen Tharrington, NC, USA

May 2007

Dear Bart and Therese

A somewhat belated, but very big thank you for giving us such a wonderful introduction to New Zealand. To be met at the airport and whisked away in style to such beautiful accomodation with those stunning views close to a street full of superb restaurants and to be looked after by such attentive hosts, not to mention those breakfasts, was more than anyone could ask.
Our stay in your country, eight weeks in all, was everything that we expected and more, and we are still boring our friends with our experiences! The Milford Track was spectacular, even with two of the days walked in torrential rain, hail, thunder, and snow on the McKinnon Pass! It was evident why it is said that the track is the 'eighth wonder of the world' - when it is raining! The sight of the valley walls alive with hundreds of waterfalls has to be seen to be believed.
Trust you are both well. Do hope we can meet again one day.

Reuben and Mary Suckling, UK

Apr 2007

Hi Bart and Terese,

We just returned to Honolulu today. Our vacation to NZ was just wonderful.
We had a grand time. Your Ascot Parnell B&B was the finest place we stayed.
What a way to start a vacation! The physical comforts of Ascot are super
but you two make it a memorable experience. Many thanks.


Ray and Nancy Jeffs, Hawaii USA

Apr 2007

During our 7-week holidays in New Zealand, we mostly stayed in 4 and 5 star B&B's. Nearly all were of exeptional quality and made our trip
in this beautiful country unforgettable. Of the 19 different lodgings we had, Ascot Parnell in Auckland was one of our favourites. What is better to start such a long holiday with Dutch-speaking friends who met you at the airport and make you feel comfortable rightaway. Trees and Bart are fantastic people, always in for a chat, giving advice about the things to see and (not) to do, and...great cooks. Their house is quietly situated in Parnell with its many restaurants, nice little shops and only 5 bus-minutes away from downtown. We had a very nice bedroom and sitting room, apart from the very spacious guests-lounge and balcony, looking towards the city-centre and containerport. This address is top-of-the-bill.

Maaike and Dick Gorter
The Netherlands

Mar 2007

The best B&B in New Zealand. We traveled all the North and South Islands and Ascot Parnell can't be beat. Be sure to have Bart pick you up at the airport. Great Value!!

Ray & Nancy, Hawaii.

Jan 2007

We spent a terrific week in New Zealand. Staying with you at the Ascot Parnell was a highlight of our stay in Auckland.

Wonderful to meet you and best wishes until our next visit to the Ascot Parnell.

Susie and Marc Sievers, USA

Jan 2007

We contacted Bart and Therese over the Internet after reading all their outstanding reviews. They provided us with invaluable information on Auckland and New Zealand before we ever left home. It was like having your own personal travel agent. They could not accommodate us for our entire week's stay, but squeezed us in for 4 days and recommended an alternate B&B for the rest of our stay. From pickup at the cruise terminal to delivery at the Auckland Airport, this was by far the most memorable visit we have ever experienced. Bart and Therese provided a personalized sophisticated European elegance that was lacking in other places we have stayed. We were lucky enough to spend Christmas with them and enjoy a Christmas Eve dinner with them and the other guests at a local eatery. Our Christmas morning breakfast was even more fantastic (see photo) than their already superb everyday breakfast offerings. They really take an interest in all their guests and make you feel at home in their home. They're always there, but never intrusive. Get your reservations made early! Don't miss this experience. Thanks again, Bart and Therese, for a most delightful stay in Auckland.

Randy and Lieu, Florida USA

Nov 2006

Bart picked us up at the airport after an exhausting cross-planet flight from New York. He cooked us breakfast and made us feel welcomed and introduced us to the warm hospitality of New Zealand. We couldn't have picked a better way to start a two-week vacation in an unfamiliar place. Thank you Bart and thank you Therese. We'll never forget our warm welcome and the delicious breakfasts while we chatted with fellow travelers from around the world. Best vacation ever.

The views from the room and from the terrace were spectacular and the accomodations were luxurious, including the heated bathroom floor, the deep tub, and the most comfortable king-sized bed.

The "loop" bus stops two-blocks from the hotel so this is easy without a car, but there are car rental agencies near the hotel when you're ready to explore the rest of the country. Museum and rose garden are walking distance. All in all, an excellent location for exploring Auckland.

Oct 2006

We have thoroughly enjoyed your wonderful hospitality in such a beautifully appointed accommodation. A very positive introduction to New Zealand. Delicious breakfasts and charming ambience. World Class ! Thank you !

The Gantz family, Boston USA

Apr 2006

Hello Therese and Bart,

We are back home and at work again and we want to thank you for the stay at your wonderful little hotel. It was a great place to spent a weekend of recreation from a very long flight and you helped us to a perfect start of our NZ trip. Recommendations about restaurants, shops and places to go etc. that we had a chance to follow were absolutely reliable and made our trip a pleasant one. We also enjoyed your outstanding breakfast as well as the talks to you and your other guests. This is B&B at the highest standards.

Thanks again and warmest regards,

Sabine and Andreas Schneider - Bavaria Germany

Feb 2006

Hi Therese and Bart,

Now that we are back home and reminiscing about our trip to New Zealand, we have to tell you that our 5 night stay at your elegant
"small hotel" was one of the highlights of our visit. Five days is a
long time to stay at a B&B, but we were sorry to leave. We enjoyed the
excellent food every day at breakfast and the conversations with the
interesting people from other parts of the world who were staying
there. We never felt rushed. The accommodations were superb and the
view of the harbor from the deck spectacular. We hope to stay with you
again on a future trip and recommend you highly.

Pat and Dennis Caren
Walnut Creek, California

Jan 2006

A wonderful start to our NZ adventure. Great hosts, catering for our every need. Many many thanks ! (incl. the Flemish Toast !).

Duncan & Jill, St. Albans, England

Jan 2006

This will always be our place to stay when we come to Auckland - the welcome, hospitality, help and surroundings can't be beaten !

Caroline & Meredith, Cambridge England

July 2005

Hello Bart, Therese & Khalifa !!!

Lori & Jim Mirazita here, writing from home in southern New Hampshire. We had a *fabulous* remainder of our trip and are already plotting our return to NZ and Australia. What glorious countries ! We *so* enjoyed our stay with you all and have told anyone who will listen that Ascot Parnell B&B is the *only* place to consider if you're heading to Auckland. You guys are just the most gracious and accomodating hosts, and Bart, you cook up a *mean* breakfast. :-)
We hope that, should you venture to the States and make your way to the Eastern seabord, you'll look us up in New Hampshire.

Warmest regards,
Lori & Jim Mirazita

April 2005

Hello Therese and Bart,

A belated note of thanks from Debbie and I for making our first stay in N.Z. such a happy one. I hope you enjoyed the bottle of wine we left behind...if it wasn't any good now you know to stay away from that vineyard. Our last night at the Ascot Parnell was very quiet, we brought in a salad and pizza and had dinner as if we were home. The Sapphire Princess was incredible, we liked it much more than we expected to but the weather didn't get better it got worse until the day we sailed all around and through Fiordland National Park. That day was spectacular. Please remember to get in touch when you finally get to New York.

With warm regards, Eileen Feeney

December 2004

Dear Bart and Therese,

We have been meaning to contact you both sooner, but we got right back into the swing of things immediately once we landed in New York. Since vacation, it has been non-stop between work, school, and the holidays!
I couldn't help but to feel awful that we did not get a chance to properly say goodbye to two of the most wonderful hosts weary travelers from New York could ask for. We were spolied at the Ascot Parnel, especially with Bart's breakfasts, and no other accomodation could match up! We loved our stay with you.
We don't want you to forget about us, so please feel free to stay in touch. We hope that your holidays are wonderful and that this e-mail finds you both in good form, healthy and happy.

Kind Regards,

JoAnn and Kevin McAdams
Sayville, New York

October 2004

Dear Therese & Bart

Am back home and have been hard at work at the office. I just wanted to send you a little thank you to tell you that I truly
enjoyed my (short) stay at your beautiful Ascot Parnell. Just that alone makes me want to make a return trip to NZ! Give Kalifa a couple of pats for me.

warmest, Dyan

May 2004

Bart and Therese!
We've arrived in Rotorua but already we miss your wonderful B&B! We ended up staying in the Princess Gate to be close to town, but thank you for all of your recommendations and plan to check out the others in the next cities!
You were both supreme hosts! Jim and I could have sworn you were raised in the South, USA from your outstanding hospitality! :)
Thanks again for everything!
Kathryn and Jim

February 2004 Therese and Bart;
Bill and I had a wonderful trip to New Zealand, and beginning our trip with you was perfect. Thank you again for your hospitality. We enjoyed meeting you both and staying in your lovely home.

Best wishes and warm regards,
Amy Watson

November 2003

Dear Bart & Therese,
It is 6:15 am and I am on my way. The hospitality was superb. I feel sorry for the remaining B&B's on my itinerary. They have an impossible standard to meet.

Ed Vane (Los Angeles, California, USA)

October 2003

Hello Bart & Therese,
Thank you for your vision and efforts in creating an absolute beautiful and serene environment. Karina and I truly enjoyed our stay at Ascot Parnell. We really didnt know what to expect, and believe me our expectations were definitely exceeded. Great breakfasts, Great conversations, Great people and above all a Fantastic B and B. Re : Kalifa. Karina and I are now considering owning a greyhound. Given we travel so much, it may not be an favorable option. Is that how you spell Khalifa ? We will be back...

Warmest regards.
Elliott & Karine Yancey (Darling Harbour, Sydney Australia).

March 2003

Hello Therese & Bart,
We're back home in body, but our hearts and minds are still in New
Zealand. We enjoyed meeting both of you and thank you for your gracious
hospitality and wise advice. We see why your B&B has been such a success and will certainly tell our friends about you. Take care.

Warm Regards,
Elizabeth & Snowden Hall (Charlottsville, Virginia USA)

December 2002

Thank you for making us feel so welcome in your home. Ascot Parnell is a unique nest - very cosy and very warm. Thank you again ! We hope you one day make it to New York. If you do - please let us know, we would love to see you again.

Warm regards, Lorne & Ettie Taichman, Long Island New York.

December 2002

What a wonderful way to start my trip. I am so delighted to have been here. You both are so nice and hospitable that I'd like to stay for a couple of more days. The breakfasts were fabulous ! I loved the "Flemish Toast", however, so many good breakfasts leave little room for lunch ! Glad to have been here.

Thank you for everything. Loved it. Adam Eastwick New York, NY.

November 2002

Dear Therese & Bart,
We consider ourselves most fortunate to have stayed with you at Ascot Parnell. It is not often that one comes upon such lovely people and who are so intent in making their guests have a very pleasant and enjoyable experience. You have a lovely place and we will not hesitate to recommend it. Best of good fortune in your new home and that you continue to enjoy it.

Jill & Brian Keel, Adelaide Australia

December 2002

Only the warmth and friendliness of the hosts surpasses the beauty and comfortableness of the accommodation !

The Gillespies, Toronto Canada,

December 2002

Therese & Bart,
WOW ! What a way to begin our first trip to New Zealand. We thought your B&B was one of the best we have ever stayed in, your hospitality made us feel like we were visiting old friends. We certainly hope we can return to Auckland again and enjoy another wonderful stay with you.

June & Alex Brown, Toronto, Canada

December 2001

Thank you Bart & Therese ! We feel so fortunate to have met you and shared memories that will last a lifetime. You two have a "true gift" of making people feel at home and we love your house, your hospitality and your pet ! This truly felt like a home away from home for us. We will recommend you to anyone we know who is heading this way ...

Ron & Kathyt Boyer, Ottawa Ontario, Canada.

November 2001

Absolutely Fabulous ! The rest of the accommodations are going to pale in comparison. Thank you.

Irene Statham, New Westminster, Canada

November 2001

Thank you so much for making our last night in New Zealand one of the most wonderful of our trip.

Angela Read & Debbie Shevell (U.K.)

November 2001 Thanks for November 21st and 22nd 2001
Dear Bart and Therese,

Just to say how much Paul and I valued our time with you. We have sent a letter to the Lonely Planet Guide praising you and your excellent Small Hotel. You had the most beautiful manners with us and your room and breakfast were a treat!
Keep on being wonderful. We want to come again!

Florence Spurling (Australia)
August 2001

Dear Bart and Therese
I just wanted to say thanks you so much for my lovely stay at the Ascot. It was a perfect place for me to be. Your B&B was so comfortable, and your personal style was just perfect in making one feel welcome and catered for in every way, without feeling intruded upon. Congratulations on getting the atmosphere so right.

Thanks again,
Cathy Kell (South Africa)

August 2001

Bart and Therese,
We were your guests from the 9th to the 13th of April. We wish to
tell you that we have never stayed in a B&B that was as immaculate. The
breakfasts, too, were exceptional, but best of all was your kind
hospitality. We loved talking with you, and we will remember our visit
for a long time.
Should you ever come to Colorado, please come by for a visit. We'd
love to show you our region.

Again, thank you. Dale and Carol Bartkus

June 2001

dear bart & therese-
thank you so much for the wonderful time in your charming hotel! we loved our
interactions with you, and really appreciated that the room was actually all
ready for us when we arrived! you are amazing! thank you for making our
anniversary trip so special! (the honey made it home safely with us, and
brings back many happy memories!) and I still think of your french toast!

corinne & dale ruokangas (USA)

December 2000

Dear Bart & Therese, I have been in NZ for almost three weeks now, and I say with authority that you make the best coffee and breakfasts in the country ! I enjoyed staying at Ascot Parnell and hope to return some day to stay with you again.

Hilary Gilligan, Glasgow Scotland.

November 1999

I have travelled to a lot of places but I have never seen such a charming friendly place until I came to the Ascot Parnell. It's nice to stay in a place that offers personal service and has owners willing to chat to you after a long hard day sightseeing. I will definitely recommend this establishment to anyone and everyone back home wanting to visit Auckland & NZ. Thank you !

Christopher Brunby, Melbourne Australia
P.S. Why do people stay in those corporate hotels when they could stay here ?

March 1999

Thank you for this oasis of charm, calm and comfort in the midst of our hectic schedule. We especially enjoyed our talks with you and appreciate your advice and map, helping us to explore Auckland. Follow through on a history of Ascot Parnell ! Hope to be your guest again.

Eleona Baker, Houston Texas.

August 1998

Abbiamo finalmente trovato all' Ascot Parnell (dopo essere stati in moltissimi hotels in tutto il mondo) un'accoglienza eccezionale che non potremo dimenticare ! Un grazie a Therese e Bart : ci siamo sentiti a casa, benche lodi sia 18,000 km lontana. Ciao !

Emilia & Giacomo Italy.

P.S. We decided to write in Italian because we did not find other Italians in the book !

May 1997

A beautiful & tranquil place in a great neighbourhood ! I loved the art on the walls and the sunroom ! Thank you for a memorable visit and your hospitality.

Catherine Sweeney

December 1996

Bart & Therese, What a special hideaway your Ascot Parnell ! And what thoughtful and sensitive hosts you are ! Thank you for everything ! Tres chers amis - l'hotel est un petit "bijou", le jardin "enchante", les hots les meilleurs. Mille mercis, maxi bises.

Carole & Michel Altman Colorado USA.

February 1996

What a nice surprise to have found such a jewel in the city on our last few nights in NZ ! We are very sorry we cannot stay longer - but we promise to come back !

Cheers Missy Lavender & Kim Readding

May 1995

Thank you for sharing your beautiful and very hospitable home. The friendliness, warmth and your genuine concern for our comfort and enjoyment set Ascot Parnell apart (and above) others. Please remember us as fondly as we will remember you. Thanks again.

Carol & Flemming French, Seattle WA. USA.

July 1994

The best Bed & Breakfast we've ever stayed in ! Please don't change jobs or hotels !!

Peter Prost & Inga Wilde, Heidelberg Germany 7 July 1994

January 1993

Two of the nicest days ever spent anywhere. The house and more importantly Bart & Therese are what a traveller dreams about !! Our thanks to them and Aucklanders throughout the city.

Joe & Nan Bake - Buena Vista, Colorado USA (29 January 1993).